Crazyness!!

Wow! There have been so many patients this year... Since the first of january, we have admitted 560 children in peadiatric ward!! And it has not even been two weeks! The malaria season is really here.. I'm really just waiting  for the fever to hit me, as I am on no prophylaxis. But it is ok, i have medication at home if that would happen so no one has to worry. En eeee why i am on ny prophylaxis..? Cause there are three diffrent ones... ONE is way to expensive, ONE am I  not allowed to try due to psychological side-effects (if you have like problems with night mares, sleepingdissordes, depression or any thing similar,you are not allowed to take it) and tha last one, the one I tried to begin with, made me vomit like a pig.. All the time being crazy nauceaus, so I gave it up. But Im fine =)

Anyway, the amount of children (im not even caring about counting the adults!!!) is overwhelming!! The line outside is sooo long.. And tthey ahv enot yet managed to build the roof that was supposed to be finshed in october (hrm hrm) so everyone is just standing in the rain... And it is pouring! Waterfalls from the sky! So every patient is also suffering from hypethermia.. os we have to warm them up.  I think last week, they had 180 children in peadiatric ward... And that is a ward with 24 beds.......(!!!) And on top of that, there is usually only one nurse at work. Aii aii... BUT obviously, our emergency system has made a big diffenrence. People are more aware, and the fact that the traige has been done and the room has been used had minimized the deaths. Those who has been working here for many years says that this year is one of the WORST, looking at how many patients are coming. The hospital is crowded! But the deathrate is the BEST ever! =D Not many children die anymore and that is mainly thansk to the triaging! =D So I am actually proud! I know, im swedish.. it is not allowed  to say that yourproud over something you have done... But fuck it! I am! =D

Yesterday, at 7 pm, I still had not showerd or eaten since I got off the planne the day before.. We hade not power, and no water. Then I heard the the guest house had at least cold water. so I went there, took a cruciating cold shower, brrrrr! An the MOMENT i stepped out of the shower, shivering, barely alive, hehe... The power came back! POFF! And the hot water came back! POFF! Grrrr.... Good to ahve it back! But WHY oh WHY did it have to wait until after i tormented myself in the ice cold brown guest house water...??? hehe. Anyway. It was refreshing.

Then I went home, we ate chicken soup and watched "the last king of scotland". Then I had night mares all night. I dreamt Idi Amin was going to execute me while I was on the phone with my mother... He held a gun against my forehead. Iiii... it was horrible!!

Now I'm at lunch, soon going back to work.

Oh, and by the way, Oliva has come back to work after having her baby, and she brings the baby everyday =) she puts her in the couch where she sleeps while Oliva is working =) I gave Oliva the phone and clothes from my parents, and I gave the clothes from Karen to her little daughter (Named Fainesi). she was very happy, and told me to thank you so much, and god bless you! =)

Ok, back to work.. Ndikupita nchito..

=)


Kommentarer
Postat av: Renée

Låter tufft med allt regnande och malarian...hoppas du klarar dig ..:) Vad bra att Olivia gillade grejorna..:)Kramar från Mamma

2011-01-12 @ 14:35:50

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0