12 october

Wohoo!! I am sitting at home, ON internet!!!

We went to Blantyre this weekend with Justice. It was a nice city, and we stayed at a cozy hostel close to centrum.
Blantyre is the commercial main city of malawi so it is much more modernized than the rest of the country. It felt more west-inspired, if you know wat I mean.

They had a great shopping mall called GAME where you could buy anything you wanted, like a miniature IKEA.  Link bought some exercise machines, and I wanted to buy a playstation 2 for only 30.000 kwatcha (ca 900 NOK). But I didn't, I couldn't afford it. I have been broke since the vacation with christian, but today I get sallary again. Jippi!! And it was at GAME we found the salvation; Mobile internet!! Link went in again just to buy a bottle of water. And that's when she found it. Itt is for sure a miracle!! =) It is cheap and much faster then the connection at the hospital. Wow! wonderful. Especially today, cause I am home being sick.

We also stopped by zomba plateau and Mount Mulanje. Cool. High things.  I don''t know how high. According to the guide book J.R.R Tolkien viisted mount mulanje before he wrote LOTR, and some claim that this mountain was his inspirationnt doom for mou. I don't know about that, Mulanje looked very green and friendly. But there Is also a river, the shire river, wich goes through, flat, green and beatuful landscapes. This river is claimed to be Tolkiens inspiration for "The Shire" in the books, where the hobbits live. That seems more likely, it really looks hobbit-like in these areas arounf the shire river. =)

Also, Bad news; I am sick. Ick. Not nice at all. Been vomitting and having diorrhea (how the h*ll is that word really spelled? everyone here spells it different. Even those guys with english as their native tounge). It was proboblly caused by antibiotics I was taking for a minor infection, cause I started on antibiotics (doxy) last thuesday, and i got relly sick. then I stoppen on thursday, and then iwas fine over the weekend. started again on another kind, erytromycin, on sunday evening. And I was a wreck all day yesterday. Vomitting bio (gall-bladder green stuff. Very unpleasant). Link took care of me, and got me  water and went down to the hospital to collect some im anti imetics (kvalmestillende/ mot illamående). I got a injection in my butt. It didn't hurt very much though, guess i'm getting used to it... I must admit, i'm really a whimp. I can do anything to the patients, doesn't bother me at all. But when it comes to me, I hate needles and injektions. Ick! well, we are all hypocrits, are we not....

I gave blood again last week (monday, before I got sick). A little girl in peads needed rhd negative blood and I was the only one availible. It was a little to early really to give blood again, only five weeks since last time. But they only took 200 mls, just for that girl. So I was alright.
Little Chinisi receving my blood =) They are having lunch, Nsima with dried fish.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Dr. Christian

diarrhea skal være den riktige stavemåten... ;) God bedring :)

2010-10-13 @ 09:10:51

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0