Just another manic monday....=(

So, the day started with official opening of out new emergency room. Wich was lucky, cause we got in a lot of emergencies... Like always on mondays... But it started really bad. the first patient to ever be treated in the room, died. It was a 16 years old girl, her mother and grandmoother was with her. She could hardly breath, and she was obviously severly anemic (to little blood in her body)... Me and Nyathipa worked with her for an hour, gave iv-fluids, oxygen, took all test.. And then, when we just decided to take her up to the ward,
she had a heart attack and died.

The  mother and the grandmother started screaming, and crying, and singing... I felt  I was so close to tears... But I was very stressed, cause before that girl died, we got in a little girl of 2 years who was hardly reacting to anything, also anemic and had a hard time breathing. We gave her oxygen and started working with her at the same time. So for a while, we had two severely sick patients, both close to death. Then in the middle of it all, I think about just five minutes before the older girl died, the oxygen machine connected to the 2 year old, burst into flames. it started burning, jsut like that! An oxygen concentrator!! How good is that, may i ask?? Anyway, I tried to call our electritian at the same time I was taking a blood sample of the little girl, and the moment I hung up the phone and turned to the older girl, she was dead.

What makes me so completely pissed off, is that that girl died, because she had been poisoned. She had been taken to a witch doctor before she  came to the hospital, and he had given her a potion of unknown contents. After taking this potion, she had gotten way worse. And her symptoms and the way she died, was a typical reaction to intoxication. It makes me so angry. These horrible witch doctors... They are killing people. It makes me wanna cry. and what is EVEN more annoying is that the hospital and the doctors and nurses get the blame for it, cause from the guardians point of view, she died in the hospital, while being treated with hospital drugs. She didn't die when she was at the witch doctor. So it was our medicine that killed her. And I tell you.... That is the worst part. Those beilefs are killing people. I mean, the patient died at the hospital, BEACUSE she came TO LATE. And because she had gone to a fake wizard that poisoned her! Aaaaa..... I have never experienced something more horrible in my life than these witch doctors.. I wish they could be forbidden, thrown out of the country, or something... Sent to jail, lifetime sentence.... Treated like any other murderer would be. They are horrible, and I despise them. If i could my hands on one of them.... aaa....  Today I had to pull a trolly with a dead 16 year old through the hospital becasue  of them. A 16 year old is not supposed to die!!!

Now, i am home for lunch. There is no electricity today. either. So I am eating some olives and a dry piece of bread with peanut butter. yummi. not.

Soon back to work.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Renée

Mot dumheten kämpar själva gudarna förgäves...Usch ..detta låter hemskt..Hoppas du kan förtränga det och jobba vidare..:) Har kollat igenom din rapport som kom till mailen alldeles nyss....Wow..:):):)

2010-11-22 @ 14:52:08
Postat av: Maria

Hej! Ins[g just att jag kan ju svara pa kommentarer genom att ga in pa min sida och inte logga in! hoho!



Tack mor! Jag ar pa forskrackligt daligt humor idag.. De har javla haxdoktorerna.. nagon skulle bara ge dem ett nackskott...

2010-11-22 @ 15:52:37

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0