I am Bambi!

Today, rainfall has been BAD!

Heavy raining all day. And to work in a hospital that is 50% outside.... Baaaaaad. Especially if you are wearing worn out crocs. Like me. I've been sliding around like bambi on ice today! And I fell 3 times  on slippery and wet floors. I have big bruises on my bum...  hehe. And there were so many malawians watching me! But they didn't help me to get up. Instead they just pointed at me and laughed.... hmmm.. Remind me, what am I doing here 
again...?? ;)
hehe.  But it is ok, I laughed as well.

 Muzungo in the rainy season...?


The whole hospital is located on a hill, like the offices on top, and then you go down down down to the wards... OPD is almost in the bottom. So all the water gathers around our facilities. I transported a patient from OPD to medical ward on a trolly. Had to go through corridores with no roof. Both the patient and me got soaked... Not nice. But yeah, what can we do.. Just laugh, I guess.

We also had a funny case today! =) A little girl named Beatrice. She had eaten a Tambala (a big coin. Money!!) Adn the x-ray was so funny. The tambalas are really big, and it was stuck right under her eosophagus. But she was completely fine, and so cute!! Smiling and talking. But she got scared before the procedure and started crying, so I intriduced her to Mr. Elephant (A teddy bear i bought on shop rite to keep in the ER). She totally fell in love with him. Hugged him, petted him, and it really helped her througout her fear. When she was going to leave, I couldn't bring myself to take it from her. So was so attached to it. So I tied it to her back, like the mothers carry their babies, and I told her to keep it. I've never seen such a smile in my life!! =) She was so happy. I have to buy a new elephant, though. But that is no big deal really. I guess that elephant will be very much loved! =)

On friday is Rhonas last day on work.. I don't want her to leave. It will be so strange to come back in january, and Rhona not being here... I will miss her so much. She was here when we came, and took care of me on medical ward my first days... And then I've worked together a lot with her, and she is such a talented doctor and such a great friend... We always ahve dinners together at her place... Uff... =(

Kommentarer
Postat av: Renée

Det var bra att du gav henne elefanten..:) du kanske kan ta med en del av dina gamla mjukdjur efter jul och ge till barn i Malawi...:)

2010-12-07 @ 16:08:54

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0